C is for…

A Verse Hid in Our HeartsC is for
“Consider the ravens: they neither sow nor reap, they have neither storehouse nor barn, and yet God feeds them. Of how much more value are you than the birds?” Luke 12:24

A Hymn to Impart“I Know Who Holds Tomorrow”

A Sweet Little Prayer“Lord, Teach a Child”

A Poem to Share“No Shop Does The Bird Use”

How Our Week Was Spent
C is for Cardinals which we have a lot of at our house. We set up a bird feeder and a Mommy, Daddy and Baby cardinal come eat out of it all the time. They are picky eaters and only like the black sunflower seeds though and all the other bird food is just wasted (by Joel, 8).
Cardinal at Feeder
Lots of birds come on our lanai to eat our crumbs. The little red-headed birds come right into the house all the time. Mom always says “Shoo bird!” but they don’t even listen to her and just hop all over looking for crumbs. They are cardinals too but they are smaller and don’t have crests (by Titus, 9 1/2).
red head
Teacher’s Two-Cents
One of my all-time favorite books is “Laddie” by Gene Stratton Porter. In it Little Sister is pulled out of the local school to be taught at home after the following incident. The students were memorizing this little rhyme by Isaac Watts,
“Birds in their little nest agree;
and ‘Tis a shameful sight,
when children of one family
fall out, and chide, and fight.”

Well, Little Sister had observed baby birds in their nests enough to know that they fought like anything and shouldn’t be used at all as an example to get children to be nice. She would have loved to have had a peak into our little nest yesterday morning.
For some reason our baby birds weren’t “agreeing” with each other at all and before we even had a chance to start school Mama Bird had all ready had enough of the “falling out and chiding and fighting.” As we were sitting down for our devotions yet another argument sprung up prompting me to announce that school was canceled for the day because if I couldn’t teach my boys to be kind to each other then I wasn’t going to even try to teach them anything else and since I didn’t have a lesson plan ready on kindness they might as well just go do whatever they wanted. This pleased little Sam just fine and he grabbed his squirt gun and headed outside. Surprisingly, the other boys all joined together in arguing with me about not doing school (finally, they agreed on something). I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry at hearing them actually beg to do school and almost lost it completely when they pleaded for me to at least let them do spelling. Spelling! (kudos to the creators of Sequential Spelling, I guess). Well anyway, with school canceled I set about giving the house a serious cleaning (I’ve happened to notice a direct correlation between a disorderly home and disorderly conduct) and giving the Lord a serious appeal for patience and wisdom.
By late afternoon the house, it’s smaller occupants, and my own spirit had all been whipped into shape so school was back in session. This time we started with an in-depth-look at James 4:1-12 which begins, “What causes quarrels and what causes fight among you? Is it not this, that your passions are at war within you?” The Bible must be the best teacher’s resource ever! There it was, a ready-made lesson plan all written out for me! So this morning, I am thankful to say we were able to finish our school week with a bang rather than a whimper, a whine, and a fight.
brotherly love

4 responses »

  1. I am sorry about the arguing between your little birds, but it is refreshing to know that it happens in someone else’s home occasionally– not just mine! It’s also refreshing to know that there are times when other moms don’t have a lesson prepared for the argument or the perfect thing to say, but of course the Word does! We also missed a day (the entire day) of school this week and attempted to get the house back in order! (How does this clutter creep in?)
    I love reading your boys’ precious comments. It is so sweet to read the little things they notice.
    One of the things I remember most about our visit to Hawaii was the birds! They would hop onto our table every meal! If I got up from my seat, I would return to find a bird had taken my place and helped himself to the food on my plate!
    Glad you had a great week and finished with a bang!

    • Thanks, Shannon. So thankful for opportunities to start fresh. God really set things up nicely that way with mornings, and Mondays, and New Moons, and even just chances throughout the day to do things over and hopefully get it right. Sometimes I forget this and just keep struggling with a bad start instead of stepping back, taking some time to pray and regroup and facing things afresh. So here’s to Mondays, friend. Hope it’s a good one. And if it’s not, just start over! 🙂

  2. I love the reference to Gene Stratton Porter – one of my favorite authors. I was just telling my daughter the other day about Girl From the Limberlost.
    Sometimes my baby birds disagree, too. Thanks for the Scripture to help through that situation..
    (And -yes- a disorderly home does equal a disorderly family here, too!)

Leave a Reply

