D is for…

A Verse Hid in Our HeartsD is for
“Do not toil to acquire wealth; be discerning enough to desist. When your eyes light on it, it is gone, for suddenly it sprouts wings, flying like an eagle toward heaven.” Proverbs 23:4,5

A Hymn to Impart“Flee as a Bird”

A Sweet Little Prayer“God’s Love”

A Poem to Share“The Last Word of a Bluebird”

How Our Week Was Spent

Lego Literati

Lego Literati


We went to Story Time at the book store and got a coupon for a free book so we got the Lego Book of Ideas. We read Make Way for Ducklings and I made little ducks like I saw in the Lego Book and Mom squealed a lot about them (Joel, 8).
Lego Ducks
We used to have a pet duck. It just flew in our yard one day and stayed for like two months. It would come when we called and wag it’s tail when we gave it bread. We named it Rick but it was a girl only we didn’t know that (Titus, 9 1/2).
Rick

Rick


D is for dove. They come on our lanai sometimes. Yesterday a dove came in and then couldn’t figure out how to leave so it stayed in my room all morning till Mom got it with a net (Nate, 6).
Zebra Dove
Teacher’s Two-Cents
I couldn’t help laughing out loud as we read together “Make Way for Ducklings.” What Mama of little ones isn’t just like Mrs. Mallard? First, we have to find the perfect nest, where there aren’t any foxes or turtles or things with wheels rushing about that might harm our ducklings. We devote ourselves to keeping them warm and are careful to count often to make sure they are all there. We teach them to swim and dive, walk in a straight line, come when they’re called and stay away from things with wheels. And then we lead them through this grand adventure called life as proud as can be when on-lookers stop to comment on our beautiful family never knowing the perils we are inadvertently avoiding at every turn because Our Protector is directing traffic all along the way.
We met a dear older couple at Church on Sunday whose own children had all left the nest to go on the mission field in a country where Christians are routinely put to death. I was imagining my own little ducklings under such perilous circumstances when the gentleman said “I’d be more afraid for their physical safety if they were home with us and not doing the Lord’s will. There’s no safer place for them to be than in the center of His will.” As David Livingstone once said “I am immortal until my work is accomplished.”
God has a work for our children to do and my work isn’t to protect them from all the dangers associated with it. Just like the policemen in the story, the Lord is directing the traffic all around us. My job is to teach them to come when called and in learning to follow me they are learning to follow their Master and when He calls, to go without question. And even if that be to The Valley of the Shadow of Death they need fear no evil.
Lord, help me not to parent in fear, but in accordance with your will. Strengthen me to train up these little ones you have entrusted to my care
so that they would be well equipped to do the work you have set out for them to accomplish. And surely, goodness and mercy will follow them all the days of their life.
(almost) All My Ducks in a Row

(almost) All My Ducks in a Row

17 responses »

  1. Make way for Ducklings is one of our favorites! I love Mrs. Mallard … if only my kids (and I only have 4!) would follow me in a line the way those ducklings did! :-). Just walking through the parking lot to get to the grocery store is pretty hazardous for us!

  2. Great post Julie. We pray for our grandkids to be Daniels, to stand on firm Foundation, to face the lions and give praise to God. Thank you for teaching and influencing what is most important in life!

  3. Awwww… your youngest duckling looks oh so very squeezable! Precious! I can’t believe he’s so big already. He definitely resembles some of his brothers. I would love to be at story time with you and 5 boys!! “Yes! They are all mine!” 🙂 (Big smiles) What a pleasure! Swing in your waddle!
    I’m lovin all of your mommy wisdom and encouragement each week this school year. (and to think you can catch birds, too!) Thank you so much for sharing your two cents! I always look forward to Fridays! I almost always sneak a quick peek and read before I have time to come back and comment! Love that quote, too. Man. Good stuff.

    • The funny thing about the story time is that it’s put on by the local chapter of “University Women” to “increase literacy in the community” and the bookstore hands out free book coupons to “increase literacy in the home.” So of course, after careful consideration, our boys picked out “The Lego Ideas Book”. A real classic! Mission accomplished, ladies!

    • About the table…I’ve been trying for over a week to snap a picture of one of our little resident cardinals that flies in and lands right among all those other birds but she keeps fluttering off before I get a chance. Aren’t the little Lego ducks cute? The boys keep wanting to dismantle them and use the pieces for weapons and other boyish contrivances but I won’t let them.

    • Hi Ethan! We almost have as many birds in our house as geckos but Mom doesn’t scream and make us catch the birds and feed them to the Mynah birds like she does the geckos. Why don’t girls like lizards?

  4. I have so enjoyed reading your blog thus far this year – especially the “Teachers Two Cents”. I agree with you 100% when you said, “My job is to teach them to come when called and in learning to follow me they are learning to follow their Master and when He calls, to go without question. And even if that be to The Valley of the Shadow of Death they need fear no evil.”

    As parents, we do have an awesome responsibility, to teach our children, which the Lord has entrusted into our care, the Word of God, so that they will be well equipped when they do leave home to be faithful and obedient to Him, and when the Lord calls them, they will follow without question. Proverbs 22:6 tells us as parents to, “Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.”

    You are teaching and building a solid foundation for your boys that is based upon God’s Eternal Word, which is truth. They are and will be so much ahead of their peers because of the content you are teaching them and their experiences they have encounter and the things they have accomplished. However, an even greater aspect of all this is they are being taught by a teacher who loves and serves the Lord Jesus Christ, and a mother who loves and cares for them very dearly.

    I will be looking each week at your blog to see what interesting and unique ways you will be teaching your boys the things that are most important in life. Blessings to you and family.

    Mikey

  5. The reason the wording says, ” the valley of the SHADOW of death” is that death for the Christian is only a shadow. It has not more power to do us real harm than the shadow of a passing car has the power to knock us down.

    Joel, I squealed a lot about the Lego ducks, too. Oh, if only you lived nearer and I could have you make me one!

    • Thank you for those words. As for the Lego ducks, the pieces were unfortunately reclaimed for the purpose of making a catapult. I guess that’s it for any Lego cutesyness around here.

      • Ah, yes, the “hazards” of having boys. It doesn’t ever stop; my 26-year-old has just discovered a place that will let you rent Lego sets you don’t have so you can try them out.

Leave a Reply

