I is for…

A Verse Hid in Our HeartI is for
“Is it by your understanding that the hawk soars and spreads his wings toward the south? Is it at your command that the eagle mounts up and makes his nest on high?” Job 39:26,27

A Hymn to Impart“How Great Thou Art

A Sweet Little Prayer“And God Said”

A Poem to Share“There Once Was a Puffin”

How Our Week Was Spent
We learned about Satin Bowerbirds. Boy Bowerbirds build nests on the ground and fill it with blue stuff because they like blue. Then the girl Bowerbird makes a real nice nest up in a tree to lay the eggs in (Joel, 8).

Satin Bowerbird's Nest by Joel

Satin Bowerbird’s Nest by Joel


We went on a treasure hunt for blue trash. We were Bowerbirds. I built a nest with sticks and all the blue treasures (Sam, 4).
Satin Bowerbird's Nest by Sam

Satin Bowerbird’s Nest by Sam


Teacher’s Two-Cents
The boys and I were really intrigued by the Satin Bowerbird. They could really relate to a male bird whose favorite color is blue and I could relate to the female of the species who insists she can build a better nest for her babies! I love how God gives us such great illustrations from nature. Here you have an example of a well intentioned bird who works very hard to build a home and fill it with all kinds of treasures. This certainly impresses the lady but she knows such “earthly” accommodations could never be suitable for the REAL treasures she has in store. So she sets to work building another nest high up in a tree where her little treasures will be safe and secure. Matthew 6:19-21 says “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” This Mama bird is certainly thankful for all her little treasures. And I have to admit, I’ve also really come to love the color blue.
My Blue Treasures

My Blue Treasures

One response »

  1. Oh, I bet you do love blue! What a perfect picture with all of your blue treasures with the blue ocean and blue sky and you in pink! I just love it! I love learning such interesting facts about birds each week. Makes me wish that I’d thought to do something similar with plants. It’s never too late I guess…

Leave a Reply

