P is for…

A Verse Hid in Our HeartsP is for
“Praise the Lord from the earth, you great sea creatures and all deeps, fire and hail, snow and mist, stormy wind fulfilling his word! Mountains and all hills, fruit trees and all cedars! Beasts and all livestock, creeping things and flying birds!” Psalm 148:7-10

A Hymn to Impart“Praise”

How Our Week Was Spent
We have lots of birds around our house. Sometimes they are very loud. The loudest bird is the Francolin but it’s good they don’t make noise all the time. When the Parrots fly over they are loud, too. They sound like they are yelling at each other. The Cardinals are little but they sing loud and when you sing at them they sing back. The Doves are not extremely loud but there are lot’s of them so we hear them all the time. And the Myna birds are noisy too. We have heard some tourists complain that all the birds are annoying but we like them. Especially the Francolins and the Parrots.
(by Titus, Joel, Nate, and Sam)
(The boys picked out a great video we took of a flock of Parrots flying over but apparently I have to pay extra to WordPress to upload my own videos. I also have to pay extra to block the periodic ads that appear on here and I’m too cheap to do either. Sorry about that.)

Teacher’s Two-Cents
E halelu aku oukou ia Lehova! Praise the Lord! This week’s verse was a review for us since we chose this chapter to memorize together as a family a couple years ago. We also used a portion of it last year when we were studying astronomy. Tom’s Mom had sent us a link to a great message by Louie Giglio on this same Psalm. I wanted to return to it again because I think it is such a powerful illustration of the cosmic worship happening all around us. From the tiniest sparrow to the grandest star, all of creation is proclaiming “How great is our God!”

If you haven’t clicked on this weeks hymn, please do. I don’t even know how the tune goes but I found the words in a little Mennonite hymnal for children and I was just blown away by their message. When all of creation is proclaiming God’s praise, who am I to withhold my own?
And one more thing. Verses 12 and 13 of Psalms 148 read “Young men and maidens together, old men and children! Let them praise the name of the Lord, for his name alone is exalted; his majesty is above earth and heaven.” I love the picture given here of God’s people praising Him together, young and old, side by side, exalting His name along with all of creation. I am so thankful to have grown up in a corporate-worship setting listening to my elders singing their beloved hymns. The impression it made on me was life-lasting. Even as a little child I could tell that these folks meant every word they were singing and when they sang “I Love to Tell The Story” I knew in my heart that they really, really did.
E halelu aku oukou ia Lehova. Praise the Lord.

6 responses »

  1. The sounds of the birds remains a favorite for me . . . now all the boys are recognizing them and appreciating the ‘voice’ God uniquely gave each one! This video is one of my favorites to “the heavens declare the glory of God” . . . thank you for sharing. What is the max number of birds that have been on the bird-feeder?

  2. The boys didn’t mention my favorite, the Java Sparrow. I guess I’ll have to pay more attention to its song because the main thing I’ve noticed is how beautiful they are in groups. Julie, you are a great teacher. The boys–and I–constantly learn from you.
    Love to my family,
    Dad

Leave a Reply

