Q is for…

A Verse Hid in Our Hearts…Q is for
“Quench not the Spirit. Despise not prophesyings. Prove all things; hold fast that which is good. Abstain from all appearance of evil. And the very God of peace sanctify you wholly.” 1 Thessalonians 5:19

A Hymn to Impart…“Come Holy Spirit, Come Heavenly Dove”

How Our Week Was Spent
snowbirds
Snowbirds are migrating old people. They don’t have wings but they fly here in airplanes. There is a big flock of them now at our condos. They are nice. They have potlucks and cook good food. And some can dance but some don’t like loud music or loud anything. And they don’t like snow. That’s why they are here (by Joel, 8 1/2 and Nate, 6 1/2).

You know you're at a Snowbirds potluck when the "kids table"-includes 50-and-60- year-olds

You know you’re at a Snowbirds potluck when the “kids table”-includes 50-and-60- year-olds


The real "kids table"
Teacher’s Two-Cents
“How did your day go?” Tom asked, with a quick kiss at the door.
“Loaded question dear. Do you want the long version or the short?”
Men always want the short version even though it’s never as interesting.
“I laughed. I cried. I yelled. I prayed. I cried some more. I canceled school FOREVER. And then one of the boys handed me this letter and it changed EVERYTHING. So yeah, it was an AWESOME day.”
letter to mom
Each Monday I post our new memory verse in two places where it is always in view. One is right on my desk and one is on the white board in the school room. This past week more than ever the words seemed to be jumping out at me every time I walked by. Even as I went about my daily duties and in the still hours of the night a variation of that first charge kept ringing in my ear, “Quench not [THEIR] spirit[s].”
Yes, life in a condo with 5 little boys can be a lot like being stuck in a stable with a herd of wild horses. And while I certainly want to train them up and teach them obedience, the last thing I want to do is break their spirits. Our place would be quieter, certainly cleaner, I might find myself blushing less at their behavior, and worrying less about keeping them out of peril but I would practically be guilty of murder in the process. As I mention on my Boy Tested, Teacher Approved page, God not only gives Adam some very specific directives in the first 2 chapters of Genesis, He also equips the sons of Adam with the drives necessary to carry those mandates out. Tragically, boys of today are routinely having that God-given spiritedness subdued through medication and television/computer screens (read The Plug-In Drug and Boys Adrift). But there are other ways to quench boys’ spirits in the hopes of obtaining some peace and pacifity. And I know I’ve been guilty of them at times. So while the expression of contriteness and repentance and obedience in the letter was certainly a welcome one, it is my constant prayer that those words would be the legitimate fruit of the Holy Spirit in the lives of my sons and not merely the result of a quenching of their own spirits through my over-parenting, guilt-tripping, or discouraging words. After all as the verse says, “the God of peace” will do the sanctifying, not me!
And yes, I know, the context of this verse has nothing to do with parenting and the “spirit” being referenced is The Actual Holy Spirit. But I’m not expositing here, I’m just trying to be a good mommy!
Also, my boys were quick to point out that this verse had nothing to do with birds which I was also manifestly aware of and just to save everyone some repeated disappointment in the future I will let you all know right now that the letters X and Z will also be foul-less. But hey, 23 out of 26 isn’t bad!

12 responses »

  1. You are so good at being a boy mom! πŸ˜‰ I’m constantly having to remind myself “It’s okay if they are super noisy, Mom! They are little boys!” I REALLY want to quiet them down and calm them down though! After growing up with 1 sister who was 6 1/2 years younger than me, I don’t have a lot of boy experience. We colored. Ha ha! On a similar note, I tell myself “Fathers (and Mommas) do not provoke your children, lest they become discouraged.” The last thing I want to do is quench those spirits or discourage them. I am always ENcouraged when I get a glimpse of real life in that condo of yours! Thank you, friend. I love the note, and I look forward to any verses… foul-less or foul-full!

  2. As the saying go, “Boys will be boys” … and they will most certainly test your patience. This is a great post and one of encouragement concerning the parenting of God’s precious gift He has given to us (our children).

    While reading your post I was reminded of Psalms 127:3-5, “Sons are a heritage from the LORD, children a reward from him. Like arrows in the hands of a warrior are sons born in one’s youth. Blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them. They will not be put to shame when they contend with their enemies in the gate.”

    Blessings to your family from mine … Mikey

  3. We are not ‘snowbirds . . . but we love to travel there because there are 5 boys in a wonderful ‘nest’ that you and Tom provide! Thank you Julie!! Your comments are wonderful! God indeed gives us grace in many situations . . . we are blessed that you depend on His leading as you nurture and train your precious sons! Loved Joel and Nate’s comments! Love to all!

  4. This is so encouraging! I couldn’t imagine living in a condo with 5 boys! I only have one and it’s totally enough – right now. I understand the snowbirds, too. We are dealing with our own flock of snowbirds right up the hill {btw, we are finally HERE for good!}. I hope as my boy gets older I have half the patience you seem to have.

    • E komo mai! Glad you are officially on island! When I read your comment on patience I had to laugh aloud. I am the most impatient person in the world. Just ask my boys. I think I survive more through pure resignation than patience πŸ™‚ Aloha!

Leave a Reply

