R is for…

A Verse Hid in Our HeartsR is for
“Remember also your Creator in the days of your youth, before the evil days come and the years draw near of which you say ‘I have no pleasure in them’…When the sound of grinding is low, and one rises up at the sound of a bird.”
Ecclesiastes 12:1,4

A Hymn to Impart“Nearer My God to Thee”
Note: My boys just reminded me that this was the song playing in the background of the Genesis 1 reading by Apollo 8 which we posted here last year on our astronomy blog.

How Our Week Was Spent
I drowned an ant and then Mom put salt on it and it came back to life. We named the ant Lazarus (Nate, 6 1/2).
Experiment #1
We tried drowning ants too only they wouldn’t drown for a really long time and then when we put them on a plate with salt on them Dad washed all the dishes including our plate of salted ants so then they were really drowned so our experiment failed (Joel, 8 1/2).
Experiment #2
Dad said we should try the experiment again with a control ant so we drowned 3 but only put salt on 2. The one with no salt walked right off the plate but the other 2 are still there in their salt grave (Titus, 10).
Experiment #3
Teacher’s Two-Cents
If you haven’t had a look at this week’s memory verse make sure you check it out. It’s worth taking the time to read the whole thought-provoking chapter. When I read it aloud to the boys I could tell being around seniors all the time had really payed off in their comprehension of these riddles of old age. They have witnessed first hand the dimming vision, the trembling hands, the bent backs, the missing teeth, the impaired hearing, the nervousness and anxiety that come with advanced years. They didn’t know about the difficulty sleeping but they learned that this week too.
I myself thought I was being awakened in the middle of the night by the sound of a bird but it turns out it was the referee’s whistle coming from the TV. All my little hockey fans had snuck out of bed with their Dad to watch the Olympic match between USA and Russia which here in Hawaii was broadcasted at 2:30 in the morning. So I did what any other already sleep-deprived mother would do. I made them hot chocolate and rice-krispy treats and we made a night of it. After the game, which the U.S. won in a shoot-out in case you were wondering, everyone went back to bed except my little early bird and I. The full moon was shining brightly over the water and it was Nate’s turn to take a neighborhood prayer walk with me (the boys consider themselves ‘Prayer Ninjas’ since we have to be VERY sneaky when we do this) so out we went into the moonlight.
Shocking how many others are up at 5 in the morning. Old people really do wake up early. And I’m pretty sure they hadn’t all been watching hockey. We prayed extra for all our elderly neighbors who had their lights on in those wee hours. Neighbors we know are suffering from loneliness, from recent loss of loved ones, from poor health, from worry.
When I am old and maybe alone and when I too will “rise up at the sound of a bird,” I thank the Lord for the treasure trove of memories I will have to feast upon in those quiet hours of the night. Memories of little boys snuggled up with their Dad trying desperately to contain their cheers so as not to disturb the neighbors. Memories of walking hand-in-hand with my Nathan in the moonlight and hearing his whispered prayers for those around us (he and Sam always pray that everyone else can get a new baby, too :)). And even though I was a pretty grumpy Mommy all the next day I hope that big heart shaped marshmallow I remembered to put on top of their cocoa made up for it.
hearts and hockey
For more on middle-of-the-night family fun click here.

9 responses »

  1. I have been ANTicipating your post, but just cANT believe all the ANTics involved as the boys were all participANTS in this experiment. Thank you again for the fun post and moms 2 cents worth. I also never realized that I would love Ninja prayer warriors!!!!

  2. Loved reading about the ants! And, the old people——–we are in that category now so are able to relate to the observations. We hope to see you again in September when we are planning to be over there. Keep up the good work in the way you are raising your precious sons.

    • The ants were an experiment out of our science textbook which claimed that the salt would aid in bringing them back to life but apparently ants can undrown themselves without it! Looking forward to seeing you again in the fall and thank you always for your encouraging words.

  3. Lazarus! 🙂 I love it! What a darling picture of your boys gathered around that baby! So, so sweet! I love hearing about your memory-making. These are the good times and the best days… lots of ‘pleasure in them’. I hope your tea party went well!

  4. I loved your ant story and I do enjoy reading the teacher’s two cents and the thoughts that you provide to your blog readers, such as I. May the Lord continue to bless you each day as you teach and instruct your boys in the areas of life that really matter and especially the solid foundation upon which you are building their lives.

    Have a great week in the Lord … Mikey

Leave a Reply

