S is for…

A Verse Hid In Our Hearts...S is for
“So God created the great sea creatures and every living creature that moves, with which the waters swarm according to their kinds and every winged bird according to its kind. And God saw that it was good.” Genesis 1:21

A Hymn To Impart“This Is My Father’s World”

How Our Week Was Spent
mantis 1
We learned about flying bugs. We found a dead Praying Mantis and looked at all it’s parts. It had extra eyes on it’s forehead and hairs on it’s legs that it uses to taste stuff! (Nate, 6 1/2)
mantis 3
Gideon tried to eat the Praying Mantis! Gideon has teeth! (Sam, 4 1/2)
mantis 2
We started paddle practice with the canoe club and it was fun (Joel, 8 1/2).

A hui hou!

A hui hou!


Teacher’s Two-Cents
Growing up, I always assumed that my mother’s love of the outdoors and knowledge of nature had come from my father, The Handsome Park Ranger she had married at the age of 19. It wasn’t until later that I realized it came first from her own mother. In the spring we would always take drives out to wherever the wildflowers were putting on the biggest show and even as a child I marveled that my mom always knew the names of every single one. I wanted to know all their names, too. It’s amazing how our God-given dominion instinct manifests itself this way in children. If they know something’s name, quite simply, they own it. “His name is (insert any other child’s name that they have just met no more than 2 seconds ago). He is MY friend.” OR “This is MY (insert any bug, reptile, or amphibian just relocated into your kitchen here). I named him Marvin.” When children learn something’s name it suddenly becomes a legitimate part of THEIR world. From infancy much of their learning is the naming of the things around them and they absolutely delight in the accumulation of this knowledge.
I don’t know who coined the term “Delight Directed Learning” but they pretty much stole it straight out of Psalms 111:2 which reads, “Great are the works of the Lord, studied by all who delight in them.” My Mom delighted in God’s creation just as her own mother did and that was passed on to me. I may not be a trained Naturalist but I already have 2 of the most important qualifications for teaching the Natural Sciences to my children: I love the majestic works of the Lord AND I love my boys. 1 Corinthians 13:1,2 reads “If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I… understand all mysteries and all knowledge… but have not love, I am nothing.” Even though I wasn’t home-schooled that verse is the reason my Mom was the best teacher I ever had.
My Mom and The Handsome Park Ranger, 2011

My Mom and The Handsome Park Ranger, 2011

IMG_2266

13 responses »

  1. Hello!  I do not know exactly how I got on Wingedwisdom’s email list, but after seeing the photo** of the handsome park ranger and his lovely wife,  I finally know that you are Jim & Chris’s! My youngest,  Rebecca Howell Gibson,  is contempory with Jennie,  and I remember Julie only as a small child. So, my dear—I have been blessed reading your blog, and I’d like to know if you are the older one or the younger one? ** today is the first time I clicked on the photo icon but had seen photos of your sons before. Sincerely, Barbara, Mrs Howell

    • Aloha Mrs. Howell! It is indeed a pleasure to hear from you. I am the youngest and was the small child you remember. My parents will be so pleased to read your message. Thank you so much. Julie

  2. Blessings all of you! I hope there is a way for me to read archival posts, comments and replies! I have some catching up to do! Want to know more of your service to others in those Islands. My Rebecca and family live in the “Nation’s Ice Box.” Lake Superior, just northeast of them, the largest fresh water lake in the world, is frozen over and the family “Walked on water!” two weeks ago! Their youngest are 9 year old triplets!.
    God’s gift. In Christ, Mrs Howell

    • I had no idea you had family in the Great Lakes area! My 8-year-old just mapped out the route he and his older brother will be taking when the head up there someday. They are planning on building a raft and equipping it for exploration all over the Great Lakes. I’ll have to warn them of possible ice as that may affect some of their plans! 🙂

  3. Wonderful post Julie, we are blessed that your parents are grandparents to our grandchildren too! Your love expresses God’s faithfulness to another generation . . . thank you Jim and Christine!

  4. “From infancy much of their learning is the naming of the things around them and they absolutely delight in the accumulation of this knowledge.”

    It’s interesting that God gave names to everything He created except living creatures. He brought the beasts of the field and the birds of the air to Adam to see what he would call them. Over the centuries man has also given names as he discovers them to the fish of the sea and every creeping thing. To name something, it seems, is to assert authority over it or “own it“ (Gen. 1:26, 28). But it is also an extremely practical thing. Can you imagine how complicated life would be without the benefit of names? What if we had to describe everything we talked about as to who or what before we could know or understand? Well, I’m glad that Titus, Joel, Nathan, Samuel and little Gideon have names.

    Opa

    • Yep…We named them so they are OURS! But to tell you the truth, them having names doesn’t make it any less complicated around here when half the time I can’t remember which one I’m talking to and then when I do get it right they don’t listen anyway :).

  5. I’ve noticed that as my children and I know the names of the birds that come to visit our backyard, we enjoy bird watching that much more. To know their name really is to be their friend. And your hymn this week- “This is Our Father’s World,” is one of our absolute favorites.

Leave a Reply

